

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 116

By Representatives Byrd, Akbari, Alexander, Beck, Harry Brooks, Kevin Brooks, Calfee, Camper, Carr, Carter, Casada, Clemmons, Coley, Cooper, Crawford, Curcio, DeBerry, Doss, Dunn, Eldridge, Farmer, Favors, Fitzhugh, Forgety, Gant, Gilmore, Gravitt, Halford, Hawk, Hazlewood, Hicks, Matthew Hill, Timothy Hill, Holsclaw, Howell, Hulsey, Johnson, Jones, Kane, Keisling, Kumar, Lamberth, Littleton, Lollar, Love, Lovell, Marsh, Matheny, Matlock, McDaniel, Miller, Mitchell, Moody, Parkinson, Pitts, Powell, Powers, Ramsey, Reedy, Rogers, Rudd, Sanderson, Sargent, Cameron Sexton, Shaw, Sherrell, Smith, Sparks, Staples, Stewart, Swann, Terry, Thompson, Tillis, Towns, Travis, Van Huss, Weaver, Dawn White, Mark White, Whitson, Williams, Wirgau, Zachary, and Madam Speaker Harwell

and

Senators Hensley, Tracy

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the players and coaches of the 2016 Wayne County High School football team.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this state; and

WHEREAS, the Wildcats of Wayne County High School achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2016 season, advancing to the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Division I Class A semi-finals; and

WHEREAS, successful seasons are achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together as a team and excel with a cooperative spirit; the mighty Wildcats exhibited each of these rare qualities during the 2016 season as they compiled an overall record of thirteen wins and only one loss; and

WHEREAS, the Wayne County Wildcats mauled their competition during the regular season to take an undefeated record of ten wins with no losses into the playoffs where they defeated Middle Tennessee Christian School by a score of 45–7 in the first round, tamed Gordonsville 25–3 in the second round, and vanquished Nashville Christian School, 34–21, in the quarterfinals; and

WHEREAS, in the semi-final game, the proud young men from Wayne County High School fought valiantly on the gridiron as they displayed the courage and heart their fans had cheered all season, but the Wildcats sadly fell short of their goal; and

WHEREAS, during the 2016 season, the Wayne County Wildcats enjoyed the dedication and commitment to excellence displayed by Head Coach Rick Rice and assistant coaches Cary Crews, Barry Miller, Jason McWilliams, Ryan Keaton, Lance Nutt, Derrick Willis, and Greg Morris, who helped mold these young men into champions both on and off the football field; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent of these exceptional athletes and coaches not only made possible a highly successful season, but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, the football players of Wayne County High School epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they have achieved the highest level of success on the field while showing the highest degree of character both on and off the field; they inspired the school's student body and united the entire community throughout the 2016 season; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE. THE SENATE

HJR 116

CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the players and coaching staff of the 2016 Wayne County High School football team on a remarkable season and wish them much continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO116
ADOPTED: February 23, 2017
BETH HARWELL, SPEAKE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVE
RANDY MCNALL SPEAKER OF THE SENAT
APPROVED this 27th day of February 2017
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR