

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 159

By Representatives Armstrong, Fitzhugh, Mike Turner, Tindell, Lois DeBerry, Naifeh, Montgomery, Haynes, Shaw, Camper, Johnnie Turner, Harry Brooks, Gilmore, McDonald, Hardaway, Parkinson, Alexander, Bass, Kevin Brooks, Brown, Butt, Campbell, Carr, Casada, Cobb, Coley, Cooper, Curtiss, Dean, John DeBerry, Dennis, Dunn, Elam, Eldridge, Evans, Faison, Favors, Floyd, Ford, Forgety, Gotto, Halford, Hall, Harmon, Harrison, Hawk, Hensley, Hill, Holt, Hurley, Curtis Johnson, Phillip Johnson, Jones, Keisling, Kernell, Lollar, Maggart, Marsh, Matheny, Matlock, McCormick, McDaniel, McManus, Don Miller, Larry Miller, Moore, Niceley, Odom, Pitts, Pody, Powers, Pruitt, Ragan, Ramsey, Rich, Richardson, Roach, Sanderson, Sargent, Sexton, Shepard, Shipley, Sontany, Sparks, Stewart, Swann, Tidwell, Todd, Towns, Watson, Weaver, White, Kent Williams, Ryan Williams, Windle, Wirgau, Womick and Madam Speaker Harwell

and

Senators Overbey, Faulk, Beavers, Haynes, Stewart, Harper, Tracy, Marrero, Berke, Herron

A RESOLUTION to honor Coach Pat Summitt and the 2010-11 University of Tennessee Lady Vols women's basketball team upon winning the 2011 Southeastern Conference Women's Tournament Championship.

WHEREAS, in a brilliant display of athleticism and coaching, the University of Tennessee (UT) Lady Vols achieved one of the most coveted feats in all of athletics when they captured the 2011 Southeastern Conference (SEC) Women's Tournament Championship by soundly defeating the University of Kentucky Wildcats; and

WHEREAS, on March 6, 2011, before a crowd of over 11,000 fans at Bridgestone Arena, the Lady Vols, led by Coach Pat Summitt, prevailed over the Wildcats by the score of 90-65, adding yet another chapter to the storied program's history; and

WHEREAS, this victory marks the Lady Vols' fifteenth SEC Tournament Championship win and their first back-to-back SEC Tournament win since 2005-2006; and

WHEREAS, the victory was heightened by the fact that it marked only the third time the Lady Vols went undefeated in winning the regular-season title (the first two were in 1994 and 1998) before winning the conference tournament; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Vols were 31-2 going into the game against the Wildcats, who were 24-8, and UT shook off the smaller, aggressive Wildcats by putting on a sizzling shooting performance. The Lady Vols set a school and tournament record by hitting sixteen three-pointers during the game; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Vols opened the second half hitting thirteen of their first seventeen shots, shooting a season-high 56.4 percent from the floor (thirty-one of fifty-five shots), while holding Kentucky to 27.3 percent (twenty-one of seventy-seven shots); and

WHEREAS, game highlights included Lady Vols senior guard Angie Bjorklund scoring twenty-three points including tying a personal-best with seven three-pointers to lead the team; and

WHEREAS, junior guard Shekinna Stricklen scored nineteen points for the Lady Vols, freshman guard Meighan Simmons added sixteen points, and junior forward Alicia Manning had eleven points and eleven rebounds; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee's remarkable championship performance earned the team's players several individual accolades. Angie Bjorklund, Shekinna Stricklen, and Glory Johnson were deservedly named to the 2011 SEC Women's Basketball All-Tournament team, while

HJR 159

Shekinna Stricklen further distinguished herself by being named as the tournament's Most Valuable Player; and

WHEREAS, in the title game against Kentucky, Coach Summitt and the Lady Vols cruised to victory as Kentucky had no answer for Tennessee's relentless defense and aggressive board play; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Vols' aggressive attacking game, marked by both speed and athleticism, has continued to set the standard for women's basketball; and

WHEREAS, the talented members of the Lady Vols 2010-11 championship team are Lauren Avant, Briana Bass, Vicki Baugh, Angie Bjorklund, Alyssia Brewer, Kelley Cain, Glory Johnson, Alicia Manning, Meighan Simmons, Sydney Smallbone, Taber Spani, Shekinna Stricklen, and Kamiko Williams; and

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly and Big Orange fans everywhere take great pride in honoring this extraordinary group of young women, who have contributed immeasurably to the extraordinary legacy of University of Tennessee women's basketball; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate Coach Pat Summitt and the 2010-11 University of Tennessee Lady Vols women's basketball team upon winning the 2011 SEC Women's Tournament Championship, extending to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. ______

ADOPTED: MARCH 24, 2011

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

mac m ΞY RON R AMS PEAKER OF THE SENATE

APPROVED this 5th day of April 2011

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR