

## State of Tennessee

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 241**

By Representatives Floyd, Brown, Cobb, Dean, Favors, McCormick, Armstrong, Bass, Harry Brooks, Kevin Brooks, Butt, Campbell, Camper, Carr, Casada, Coley, Cooper, Curtiss, John DeBerry, Lois DeBerry, Dennis, Dunn, Elam, Eldridge, Evans, Faison, Fitzhugh, Ford, Forgety, Gilmore, Gotto, Halford, Hall, Hardaway, Harmon, Harrison, Haynes, Hensley, Hill, Hurley, Curtis Johnson, Phillip Johnson, Jones, Keisling, Kernell, Lollar, Lundberg, Maggart, Marsh, Matheny, Matlock, McDaniel, McDonald, McManus, Don Miller, Larry Miller, Montgomery, Moore, Naifeh, Niceley, Odom, Parkinson, Pitts, Powers, Pruitt, Ramsey, Rich, Richardson, Roach, Sanderson, Sargent, Sexton, Shaw, Shepard, Shipley, Sontany, Sparks, Stewart, Swann, Tidwell, Tindell, Todd, Towns, Johnnie Turner, Mike Turner, Watson, Weaver, White, Kent Williams, Ryan Williams, Windle, Wirgau, Womick and Madam Speaker Harwell

## and

## Senators Berke, Watson

A RESOLUTION to honor Hixson Elementary School on the occasion of its Fiftieth Anniversary.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should recognize those exemplary educational institutions that have made significant contributions, through abiding commitments to excellence, to their respective communities and to this State; and

WHEREAS, Hixson Elementary School is most assuredly one such noteworthy establishment. Over the past fifty years, Hixson Elementary has produced outstanding graduates who have excelled in all walks of life and it has stood as a pillar of educational excellence since its opening in 1961; and

WHEREAS, Hixson Elementary School was designed by the architectural firm of Butler and Wilhoite with construction undertaken in 1959 by the C & I Specialty Company; and

WHEREAS, currently enjoying the leadership of Sandra Jerardi, Hixson's principal since 2005, the school opened in 1961 under the astute guidance of Jean Stephens, who served as principal until 1970; and

WHEREAS, this remarkable school has been fortunate over the years to enjoy a succession of highly motivated principals, including Thomas Dye from 1970 to 1975, G. Kenneth Wilson from 1975 to 1994, and Silvia Drake from 1994 to 2005; and

WHEREAS, Hixson Elementary School has adopted as its mission to provide a safe, nurturing, and rigorous learning environment that cultivates productive citizens and lifelong learners who are academically proficient or advanced as defined by local, state, and national standards; and

WHEREAS, as the observation of Hixson Elementary School's Fiftieth Anniversary is a historic and joyous community event, the members of this body find it appropriate to pause to recognize and mark this auspicious occasion; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate Hixson Elementary School's student body, alumni, faculty, and staff on the occasion of the school's Fiftieth Anniversary, applauding their efforts to improve upon the education of Tennessee's pupils, and recognize their continuing support of the Hixson community and this State.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 241
ADOPTED: APRIL 25, 2011
BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
RON RAMSEY SPEAKER OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this 2nd day of May 2011
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR