

State of Temessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 297

By Representative Cooper

and

Senators Ford, Marrero

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the recipients of the First Annual Prestige Awards and applaud the efforts of Memphis City Schools for the Teacher Effectiveness Initiative.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pause to specially recognize those outstanding teachers who have devoted their careers to providing the highest quality education for Tennessee's students; and

WHEREAS, the First Annual Prestige Awards-Recognizing Professionalism and Excellence in Teaching, was held on March 10, 2011, to honor 172 Memphis City School teachers who have distinguished themselves as professionals of the greatest dedication, ability, and integrity; and

WHEREAS, these extraordinary educators were selected for this accolade by their peers, based on their outcome based data, stakeholder perception, content knowledge, and instructional leadership; and

WHEREAS, this event, co-sponsored by Valero Energy, Memphis Education Association, and the Department of Teacher Talent and Effectiveness is part of the Teacher Effectiveness Initiative Strategy III, focusing on teacher support, recognition, and retention; and

WHEREAS, the Teacher Effectiveness Initiative is a long-term commitment to improving the learning experiences of Memphis City School students, and is devoted to ensuring that all students have access to top quality educators; and

WHEREAS, the Memphis City Schools have utilized this ground-breaking initiative to foster the highest education for each student, motivating each child to reach their full potential, both as scholars and as citizens; and

WHEREAS, the honorees of the First Annual Prestige Awards include Angela Hewitt, Sabrina G. McCune, Aura Palacio, Paula Watkins, Terrance Cain, Angela Gaia, Amber Smith, Vicki Houlihan, Gwendolyn M. Ingram, Turkessa K. Helton, Sandra Zorn, Steven T. McKinney, Jean Dobbins, Mimi Baker, Natasha Britton, Brandye A. Williams, Keiya Graves-Garrett, Kim Halyak, Sarah Smilowitz, Dannie M. Williams, Jihan Sanders, Andrew Joseph McDougal, Angela Winfrey, Janice Denise Dugger, Jerry Chappell, Sandra Hubbard, Patricia Louise Lipford, Connie A. Jordan, Jessie Burns, Thelma Perry, Nancy B. Duke, Nicohl Collier, Kimberly Berg, Josie Dove, Tanya Dennis, Jlahna Chatman, DeShonna Y. Robinson, Martha Berge, Rona Walker, Chunmeka C. Wayne, Curlean Jones-Tate, Russell Davis, Terri Campbell, Dametrious Moten, Versey Hill, Joann S. Talley, Beverly Bradley, Rosemary Winters, Tonya Taylor Bowles, Lorraine McNeil Massey, Gloria Perkins, LeeAda S. Jones, Fredericka Hammett, Cynthia B. Morgan, Kai Earnest, Terri Lynn Miller, and Cynthia Jackson;

WHEREAS, the honorees also include Danette Hardy, Katherine A. King, Rachel D. Graham, Christy Lynnette Paylor, Linda Briggs, Terra Stigger, Nancy Seay, Sherri Avery, Wanda Cooper, Cecilia Person, Anana Johnson, Vanessa Dale Randle, Rochelle Burks, Anne Fontanilla, Sandra Barnes, Traci Logan Graham, Sandra Jynell Jenkins, Tracy Lewis, Virginia Acey, Melissa Ingles, Clara Holmes, Helen Ross-Finley, Tanya Kelly Prewitt, Karmeta Mallory-Carter, Kenneth Harris, Monica Ayers, Janna Bernheim Bernstein, Cassandra Schuyler, Temeka Dickenson, Emily Gray Chambers, Almon Fraction, Barbara Bennett, Barbara Thompson Long, Charlette S. Duncan, Brenda L. Ingram, Debra Holt-Robinson, Antonio Harvey, Tonya Walton, Mary D. Scott, Tina Michell Crawford, Antwanette Jones, Lisa E.

HJR 297

Chalmers, Casie Ruth Jones, Elizabeth Johnston, Margaret Jackson, Gwendolyn Robinson, Meah Yvette King, Brittany Clark, Anita Alston, Emily B. Beard, Sherri Phillips, Jennifer Wright, Cleodis Weaver, Stacey Taylor, Andrea L. Herenton, Allison L. King-Vester, Lori Davie, Patty Hester Uselton, and Laura H. Thompson; and

WHEREAS, additionally, the honorees are Patrice A. Gillespie, Egypt Armstrong, Jacqueline Ragland, Gillie Holmes, Love Ann Dowell-Pryor, James Lodato, Mary Helen Sinclair, Joshua Acker, Kanecia Spencer, Regina Ousley, Anita Albonetti, Willie C. Thomas III, Margaret Blount, Debra Steele, Tevita L. Williams-Dumas, Trina Somerville, Sakinah Royston, Janet L. Hood, Sandra Payne, Pamela Mabon, Rosemary Carroll, Glorious Belman Mitchell, James R. Welch, Alicia Woods, Angela Pearson, Cynthia Bunch, Hattye Drew, Katena Jones, Marie W. Cobb, Bilen Mulugeta, Otis L. Amos, Regina Nelson-Bankhead, Cathy Gaston, Adwowa James, Deborah James, Teneicesia White, Martha J. Watkins, Mettie Holmes, Dena McNeal, Edna D. Williams, Mary F. Carr, Janice Jackson, Debra B. Sykes, Katina Humphries Crawford, Phyllis A. Cleaves, Dawn LaFon, Michelle Beck, Patricia Wright, Sandra Dianne Black, Phyllis S. Goliday, Krystal Polk, Pamela Askew, Vivian Burkley, Jenell Flowers-Jones, Charles Adair, and Kaala Hentz; and

WHEREAS, these honorees truly epitomize the dedicated teacher who is wholly committed to the highest ideals of public service and quality education for all, and they should be specially recognized; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the honorees of the First Annual Prestige Awards, recognizing these Memphis City School teachers for their exemplary service to the children of Tennessee and commend their dedication to providing the finest possible education for all of Tennessee's students.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

	HOUSE JOIN	IT RESOLUTIO	N NO. <u>297</u>	- Appropried
ADOPTED: M	IAY 2, 2011		_	
	_	B.		WWW. VELL, SPEAKER RESENTATIVES
	_	7	PEAKER	RON RAMSEY OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this	s <u>/3</u> 4 day	of Ma	ry	_ 2011
BILL HASLAM,	GOVERNOR		-	