

State of Temmessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 332

By Representative Sanderson

and

Senator Herron

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Head Coach Dawn Barger and the 2010-11 Lake County High School boys' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Class A State Tournament.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2010-11 Lake County High School boys' basketball team have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, the Falcons achieved an extraordinary level of success during this tremendous season, which was capped by their recent victory in the TSSAA Class A State Tournament championship game, in which they defeated the Middleton High School team 84-63 at Middle Tennessee State University's Murphy Center in Murfreesboro, marking the school's first-ever state title in boys' basketball; and

WHEREAS, led by Head Coach Dawn Barger, who became the first woman in state history to lead a boys' basketball team to a state title, and coaches Greg Ross and Terry Moore, the Falcons ended their season with a 26-10 record; and

WHEREAS, ahead by only a 49-47 margin through the first three periods of the game, Lake County opened the fourth with a 6-0 run to gain an edge over the Middleton team and made another 11-0 run with just over two minutes left; and

WHEREAS, game highlights included Falcons player Ricky Boyd serving as the top contributer with nineteen points, Rafael Tyler added sixteen points, Derrick Swift offered thirteen points, BJ Gauldin added twelve points, and Devon Jones totaled eleven points; and

WHEREAS, Rafael Tyler was named the State Tournament Most Valuable Player, and Ricky Boyd, BJ Gauldin, and Devon Jones were all named to the All-Tournament team; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Barger, Coach Ross, and Coach Moore's leadership and passion for the game are without question, and their principles of playing tenacious defense, controlling the ball on offense, and limiting mistakes were on display throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, the talented members of this team were: Stetson Swift, Zay Coleman, Steven Rushing, Derrick Swift, Caleb Bledsoe, Rafael Tyler, Devon Jones, Ricky Boyd, Dominique Kimble, Devante Pearson, and BJ Gauldin; and

WHEREAS, other laudable members of the team were managers Dantavious Swift and Logan Dudley; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Lake County boys' basketball team epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young men not only made possible a championship season, but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

HJR 332

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Lake County boys' basketball team for their outstanding performance and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate Head Coach Dawn Barger and the 2010-11 Lake County High School boys' basketball team on winning the TSSAA Class A State Tournament and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO332
ADOPTED: MAY 4, 2011
BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
RON RAMSEY PEAKER OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this day of
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR