

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 637

By Representatives Shipley, Armstrong, Bass, Harry Brooks, Kevin Brooks, Brown, Campbell, Camper, Carr, Casada, Cobb, Coley, Cooper, Curtiss, Dean, John DeBerry, Lois DeBerry, Dennis, Dunn, Elam, Eldridge, Evans, Faison, Favors, Fitzhugh, Floyd, Ford, Forgety, Gotto, Halford, Hall, Hardaway, Harmon, Harrison, Hawk, Haynes, Hensley, Hill, Curtis Johnson, Phillip Johnson, Keisling, Kernell, Lollar, Lundberg, Maggart, Marsh, Matheny, Matlock, McCormick, McDaniel, McDonald, McManus, Don Miller, Larry Miller, Montgomery, Moore, Naifeh, Niceley, Odom, Parkinson, Pitts, Powers, Pruitt, Ramsey, Rich, Richardson, Roach, Sanderson, Sargent, Sexton, Shaw, Shepard, Sontany, Sparks, Stewart, Swann, Tidwell, Tindell, Todd, Towns, Mike Turner, Watson, Weaver, White, Kent Williams, Ryan Williams, Windle, Wirgau, Womick and Madam Speaker Harwell

and

Senators Ford, Tracy

A RESOLUTION to honor the members of the 2012 Phi Theta Kappa All-Tennessee Academic Team.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those individuals who through their natural talents and unflagging commitment have achieved excellence in their academic careers; and

WHEREAS, astute and dedicated individuals are renowned to be found in such acclaimed organizations as Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society founded in 1918; and

WHEREAS, with more than 300,000 active members and one million alumni, the group promotes the noble ideals of fellowship, leadership, scholarship and service; and

WHEREAS, after a rigorous selection process, the Tennessee Region Chapters of Phi Theta Kappa have named the 2012 All-Tennessee Academic Team; and

WHEREAS, through long hours of diligent study, steady composure during examinations and untiring commitment of time and talent, the members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Tennessee Academic Team have achieved extraordinary academic success and have made outstanding contributions to their respective colleges and communities, thus joining the ranks of Tennessee's and our nation's most elite students; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals are members of this prestigious group: Brooke Ellen Riker-Weaver, Amanda Gayle Steele, Kathy Austin, Tamera Diane Guy, Tarra L. Baker, Jessica L. Flick, Ashley Danyel Diviney, Ashley Nicole Pies, Julie A. Hudson, Anthony R. DePesa, Katherine Nicole Fanning, Polley Amrett Howell, Jonathan Marcus Graham, Trevor Daniel Moyo, Brittany Thomas, Alyssa Stapleton, Amber Leanne Hampton, Joshua Duane Hemphill, Lisa Elaine McDonald, Minh Nghiem Vu Nhat, Ivory Bryant, Erin R. Mullinax, Skylar Aleshia Hinton, Shellie Marie Leach, Mark Cole, and James Chandler; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to honor and congratulate these exemplary students on their accomplishments; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby commend and honor the 2012 Phi Theta Kappa All-Tennessee Academic Team and extend to each of the members of this select group our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation to each person named above, with this final clause omitted from such copies.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. _____637____

ADOPTED: FEBRUARY 13, 2012

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

maa RON RAMSEY

APPROVED this 16th day of February ____ 2012

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR