

# State of Tennessee

### **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 796**

## By Representative Evans

#### and

## Senators Burks, Ford, Herron, Roberts

A RESOLUTION to commemorate the Fortieth Anniversary of the Tennessee Legislative Internship Program.

WHEREAS, in 1972, the Tennessee General Assembly established the Tennessee Legislative Internship Program, which over the last forty years has not only provided the members of the legislature exemplary staff assistance, but has also enabled an unrivaled educational opportunity for thousands of college students from across Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, every year, a select number of juniors, seniors, and graduate students from Tennessee colleges and universities are chosen to serve as interns with the Tennessee General Assembly in Nashville, earning the special privilege of seeing state government operations from the legislative branch; and

WHEREAS, thirty-four colleges and universities across Tennessee, including nine public institutions and twenty-six private institutions, participate in the Tennessee Legislative Internship Program which is governed by an overall Sponsoring Committee composed of a Legislative Intern Committee comprised of members of the General Assembly and an Academic Intern Committee which is filled with faculty advisors from participating institutions; and

WHEREAS, currently, the Legislative Intern Committee is composed of the Speaker of the Senate Ron Ramsey, Chairman; Senator James Kyle; Senator Bo Watson; Senator Reginald Tate; House Speaker Beth Harwell, Vice-Chairman; Representative Craig Fitzhugh; Representative Karen Camper; and Representative Ryan Haynes; and

WHEREAS, the most recent class of legislative interns numbers 102 students from fifteen participating institutions of higher education and includes twenty-eight students selected for the 2012 legislative session through the Tennessee Legislative Internship Program process; and

WHEREAS, the esteemed members of the Intern Class of 2012 are: Premiere Alston, Wade Barnett, Vann Bentley, Adam Bishop, Vanderbilt Brabson IV, Alison Bright, John Brock, Parker Brown, Katye Brown, Alex Brown, Sara Bryant, Suzanne Carr, Kirstin Cheers, Ashley Collins, Niki Collis, Amanda Daniel, Meagan Davis, Nicollette Davis, Julianna Deyo, Dena Donald, Greg Dowell, Stephen Doyle, Gabrielle Drew, Angel Dunson, Blake Eakes, Terry Edwards, Anika Evans, Byron Glenn, Carlee Greene, Ben Hadden, Bruce Harbin, Michael Herald, Matthew Herriman, Joseph Hodge, Zach Jacob, Demetria Johnson, Amber Jones, Christopher Kandt, Tiffany Kaschel, Dylan Kimbro, Alex King, Morgan Kinney, John Kluender, Andrew Lajeunesse, Sabrina Langlois, Michael Lawrence, Kristen Lawson, and Kyle Luebke; and

WHEREAS, the Intern Class of 2012 also includes: Michael Major, Brandon McArthur, Samantha Meyer, Tony Mitchell, Garrett Montague, Christopher Moore, Holly Morgan, Gavin Mosley, Mina Mossad, James North, Ethan Norwood, Allison Otting, James Parker, Daniel Patterson, Breanna Pendilton, Randi Perry, Ryan Phillips, Shante Piche, Jennifer Pinho, Melinda Price, Hannah Ramey, Mark Rhodes, Michael Ripley, Kristi Roberts, Michael Robinson, Chelsea Rose, Matthew Rudder, Matthew Schwimmer, Melinda Smartt, Andrew Smith, Cassie Smith, Alexa Spata, Shelby Stephens, Raven Stringer, Jessica Terry, Daniel Tillman, Kirbi Tucker, Kyle Turner, Whitney Vaughn, Aris Walker, Josh Warren, Kenneth Williams, Rodriquez Wright, and Hannah Zeitlin; and

### **HJR 796**

WHEREAS, during their tenure in Nashville, previous intern classes have enjoyed the special privilege of interacting with and hearing from a variety of government officials at their weekly meetings, including the Chief Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Speaker of the Senate, legislative members from across the state, and representatives of the governor's office, to name but a few; and

WHEREAS, in addition to attending legislative sessions and committee hearings, legislative interns have been afforded rare opportunities to attend hearings before the Tennessee Supreme Court, tour state prison facilities, observe special state functions, and engage the local Nashville community through public service initiatives such as Habitat for Humanity, the Nashville Rescue Mission, and a host of other charitable organizations; and

WHEREAS, it is highly appropriate that we pause in our deliberations to pay tribute to this exemplary program and applaud its four decades of distinguished service to the Tennessee General Assembly and the good people of the State of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby commemorate the Fortieth Anniversary of the Tennessee Legislative Internship Program and extend our deepest appreciation to the Intern Class of 2012 for their laudable service to the Tennessee General Assembly.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

| HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 796                 |
|--|
| ADOPTED: MARCH 26, 2012                        |
| BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES |
| RON RAMSEY SPEAKER OF THE SENATE               |
| APPROVED this 28th day of Mouch 2012           |
| BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR                          |