

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 190

By Representative Weaver

and

Senator Beavers

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Gordonsville High School Football Team on winning the 2012 Class A State Championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student-athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true sportsmen of whom all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2012 Gordonsville High School football team have proven themselves to be the ablest of competitors and, as such, are deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, the top-ranked Gordonsville High School Tigers captured the 2012 Division 1 Class 1A State Championship title with a 21-20 victory over Huntingdon in the BlueCross Bowl; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of head coach Ron Marshall, the 2012 team dominated its opponents throughout the season and post-season, rolling into the Class 1A championship game in Cookeville on the strength of a 12-1 record and twelve straight wins; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers were trailing by seven at the half, but tied the game in the third quarter, which ended with the teams knotted at seven. The fourth quarter was played with a furious intensity by both teams, who each scored two touchdowns in the final eight minutes of play; and

WHEREAS, even after a goal line stand to deny Huntingdon's final two-point conversion attempt, which would have given the Mustangs the lead, the Tigers had to recover an onside kick and successfully convert on a fourth-down fake punt before they could lay claim to the title; and

WHEREAS, Coach Marshall's leadership and passion for the game are without question, and his principles of playing tenacious defense, controlling the ball on offense, and limiting mistakes, were on display during the team's season; and

WHEREAS, the Tigers also benefitted from the guidance, leadership, and knowledge of the team's assistant coaches: Mark Medley, Scott Clemons, Jonathan Bush, Lee Allison, Russell Bennett, Gary Glover, and Jason Stewart; and

WHEREAS, the Gordonsville High players brought a tremendous amount of pride and joy to their school, their community, and their fans throughout the 2012 season. The 2012 Tigers are: Dusten Holder, Joey Phillips, Brandon McCoy, Taylor Hunt, Cody Bane, Kaelin Cason, Damian Davis, Casey Hinson, Colby Edwards, Kyle Ragsdale, Noah King, Johnny Oberle, Keeghan Hill, Payton Watson, Noah Smotherman, Kaleb Bush, Christian Bare, Kie Blackburn, Jacob Looper, Zac Johnson, John Johnson, Austin Vaden, Austin Williams, Taylor Babcock, Billy Newton, Zac Payne, Parrish Little, Jeremiah McCaleb, Bradford Halliburton, Jake Pierce, Aaron Gray, Nic Payne, Hunter Mayo, Keigen Daniels, Jack Pitman, Tyler Coen, Codie Quarles, Spencer Prichard, Andy Garcia-Romo, Cody Bellamy, Jonathan Griese, John Wright, Jesse Harris, Luke Pierce, Trevor Glover, Ralph Salisbury, J.T. Swaim, Dalton Stogsdill, John Madell, Andrew Maynard, Cody Payne, Dustin Sircy, and Drake McClain; and

WHEREAS, the team drew strength from the support and dedication of special assistant. Michael King; and

HJR 190

WHEREAS, the Gordonsville High School football team has displayed the tenacity, camaraderie, and skill befitting one of the State's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the 2012 Gordonsville High School football team not only for the team's championship win, but also for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students, their fans, their community, and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate head coach Ron Marshall, his assistant coaches, and the players of the 2012 Gordonsville High School football team upon their capture of the 2012 Class A State Championship, applauding their dedication to excellence both on and off the field and extending our best wishes for their every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. _____190_____

ADOPTED: MARCH 21, 2013

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

maa RON RAMSEY PEAKER OF THE SENATE

APPROVED this and day of March _____ 2013

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR