

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 744

By Representatives Weaver, Pody

and

Senators Haile, Harper

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Trousdale County High School football team upon winning the 2013 TSSAA 2A State Championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true sportsmen of whom all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2013 Trousdale County High School football team have proven themselves to be the ablest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, over the course of the last several years, the Trousdale Yellow Jackets have dominated the high school football ranks and counted among its members some of the most talented young athletes in Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, on December 7, 2013, the team achieved their third state title in six seasons and ninth in school history with their 21-12 defeat of the Adamsville Cardinals at Tennessee Tech University's Tucker Stadium to complete a 14-0 perfect season and win the 2013 TSSAA 2A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, led by team captains D.J. Linville, James Kelley, D.J. Basford, Dillon Burnley, and Johnathan Araiza, this championship team includes Jay Tubbs, Marquel Claiborne, Taidrian Seay, Kenyan Harper, Ricky Harrison, Austin Ford, Seth Holder, Christian Lauderdale, Zach Blackwell, Deshawndre Neal, Brady Durham, Jon Chambers, Tanner Lannom, Josh Jackson, Nicholas Zarichansky, Colton Gammons, Easton Stacy, Josh McMurtery, Chase Dallas, Cody Barnes, Austin Harrison, Brock Ellis, Joseph Hammock, Mason Quinn, Hunter Chitwood, Dylan Coker, Daniel Deeds, Octavio Castillo; and

WHEREAS, the players enjoy the unwavering support and leadership of their coaches, including Head Coach Kevin Creasy, Brandon Eden, Stephen Jackson, Adam Keeton, Eric Vetetoe, Jackie Dillehay, Steve McClain, Ben Johnson, Corey Timberlake, Ronnie White, and Lance Howell; and

WHEREAS, the team has also enjoyed the support of their school, classmates, and community, including: athletic trainer, Randy Moss; managers, Morgan Crowder and Hannah Brooke Ellis; ball girls, Hannah Gregory, Macey Hawkins, and Destinee Dixon; cheerleaders, Breanna Calhoun, Morgan Fisher, Cassie Beasley, Kalen Cook, Hannah McKee, Brooke Sheehan, Callie Shockley, Aliya Hobby, Ali Sullivan, and Mailee Durham; and Principal Teresa Dickerson; and

WHEREAS, multiple players have received honors and awards for their efforts; Kenyan Harper was named to the All State Offense and All Mid State Special Teams, District 8-A MVP, and Blue Cross Bowl Offensive Player of the Game; Taidrian Seay was named to the All State and All Mid State Defense; and Seth Holder was named District 8-A Special Teams Co-MVP; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kevin Creasy received recognition of his own when he was named Tennessee Sports Writers Association Class 2A Coach of the Year; and

HJR 744

WHEREAS, the Trousdale County High School football team, in both victory and defeat, has displayed the tenacity, camaraderie, and skill befitting one of the state's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the 2013 Trousdale County High School football team, not only for the team's championship season, but also for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the players and coaches of the 2013 Trousdale County High School football team for their heralded success on the football gridiron as 2013 TSSAA 2A State Champions and extend to them our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

	HOUSE JOINT F	RESOLUTION	I NO. <u>744</u>	
ADOPTED: Ma	arch 6, 2014			
		Be	BETH HARW	AUULU VELL, SPEAKER RESENTATIVES
	1 -1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-		SPEAKER!	RON RAMSEY OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this	day of	Man	·h	_ 2014
BILL HASLAM, O				

•