

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 763

By Representatives Pitts, Curtis Johnson, Tidwell

A RESOLUTION to honor the Clarksville-Montgomery County Education Foundation and the Clarksville-Montgomery County School District on the 25th anniversary of their Academic Awards Student Recognition Program.

WHEREAS, the Academic Awards Student Recognition Program was established to serve as a system-wide academic awards banquet to honor the high achievements of Clarksville-Montgomery County sophomores, juniors, and seniors; and

WHEREAS, the first annual Academic Awards Banquet was held twenty-five years ago at the request of Dr. Charles Lindsey, former superintendent of Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools, on May 23, 1990, honoring 187 recipients; and

WHEREAS, the selection criteria for students has remained the same for twenty-five years, requiring all student recipients to achieve a ninety-three grade average for two consecutive semesters with no one grade lower than an eighty-five in any individual subject; and

WHEREAS, the Academic Awards Banquet is noted as one of a kind in Tennessee with the first featured speaker being Governor Ned McWherter in 1990; and

WHEREAS, the program has been underwritten by the Clarksville community and supporters of public education for twenty-five years; they contributed \$25,000 to make the first annual Academic Awards Banquet a success; and

WHEREAS, twenty-year sponsors include Rufus Johnson and Associates, Jack B. Turner and Associates, Gannett-*The Leaf Chronicle*, Jostens Publishing & Printing, and The Trane Company; and

WHEREAS, *The Leaf Chronicle* newspaper has featured all students for twenty-five years in a special tabloid dedicated to honor student accomplishments leading up to the event; and

WHEREAS, during the 25th year, the Foundation will honor 168 senior third-year recipients and 760 first- and second-year recipients in Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools who have maintained these high standards; and

WHEREAS, the 25th anniversary third-year recipients from all Clarksville-Montgomery County high schools who will be honored at the annual formal banquet on March 14, 2014, include: Samantha Marie Adams, Nathaniel Rex Alsbrooks, Elizabeth Karlin Batson, Benjamin Jordan Bleyle, Hope Lauren Boyd, Autumn Sydney Brown, Amber Elizabeth Colvin, Brady Christian Cook, Katelyn Marie Deep, Jordan Neve' Drake, Sarah LeeAnn Eskildson, Blake Andrew Fulton, Clare Isabella Grady, Trevor Jae Greiff, Allen Harrison Griffin, Harvill Blair Havens, Chrystal Marie Hetland, Bryan Montgomery Hinton, Patience Kwasinwi Jator, Karlee Lane Kimmell, Christopher Allen Kramer II, Kyle Andrew Kurczewski, Ross Joseph Martin, Braden Todd McClean, Justin Sheridan Miller, Sarah Elizabeth Miller, Kelsie Lynn Miskowiec, Mackenzie Ammon Montague, Stephanie Alexis Niles, Talor Alexandra Noordhoek, Heather Paige Norris, Priya Kaushik Patel, Bailey Edward Plaster, Danielle Victoria Porter, Jacob William Ritchart, Ashley Christina Rivera, Jereka Kaye Rogers, Kyle Steven Royer, Jacob Ramiro Santoyo, Sidney Katherine Scott, Eileen Theresa Sichterman, Sacha Lynn Stauffer, Rose Mary Elizabeth Turner, Savannah Jackson Lee Vezeau, Lester Alex Watch, Andrew Kyle Williams, and Shaoyun Moon Yang from Clarksville High School; and

WHEREAS, these exceptional students also include Kenwood High School students: Elaine Louise Carrier, Samone Shanteirra James, Steven Le Grande James, Michael Shane Kelley, Corey Edward Neff, and Johnathan Medina Roach; Middle College students: Courtney

HJR 763

Breanne Chester, Sarah Grace Davis, Kevin Gao, Priscilla Kay Henderson, Sadie Rose Marvel, Brinda Dipak Patel, Jaliyah Ashante Peterson, and Kayla Marie Suiter; and Montgomery Central students: Christopher Brandon Abernathy, Ashley Roselle Austin, John Sylvan Downing IV, Jessica Opal Elliott, Mikayla Nell Flake, Madison Paige Gaither, Brittani Pearlann Hall, Kaitlin Brianna Hart, Victoria Paige Hurst, Codie Elizabeth Kunstmann, Benjamin Wiley McKinney, Augist Paige Rodenhaber, Joshua Anthony Rye, Brittney Nicole Shedden, and Christopher Velasco; and

WHEREAS, the academic achievers also include: Rebecca Victoria Blackwell, Abigail Lee Brass, Jonathan Michael Bunton, Morgan Lee Cline, William Louis Hutcherson, Rebecca Nicole Johnson, Mahesan Lloyd Kumaravelu, Austin James McKain, Katherine AnnMarie Mimms, DaShawna Marie Saunders, Sonja Vanessa White, and Amber Nicole Woods from Northeast High School; and Selena Marie Amor, Terri Allyson Boothe, McKinzi Hope Cardwell, Matthew Douglas Chilcutt, Christian Taylor Dorthalina, Arthur Kirk Evans, Nataya Shanae' Grimes, Ashley Nafeesa Lall, and Zachary Austin Resendez of Northwest High School; and

WHEREAS, the students from Rossview High School include: Taylor Marie Bailey, Bailey Catherine Bashore, Alex Corey Bass, Aaron Franklin Bunner, Michael Alexander Colby, Regan Marie Comperry, Dana Lanielle Cornwell, Mason Clark Devers, Reid Margaret Edington, Kiara Chanell Fisher, Chelsea Marie Fust, Nicole Marie Goddard, Mykayla Marie Gover, Sarah Elizabeth Graham, Mary Caroline Greer, Brittany Leigh Hale, Daniel Charles Hott, John Davis Hunter, Samuel Norris Irwin, Ryan Timothy Jones, Jacquelyn Christine Joosse, Steven Kyle Jorden, Kevin Robert Kane, Regan Grace Kimbrough, Adriana Arrigunaga McClure, Daniella Alexandria McNair, Abby Lenay Morehead, Jessica Taylor Neill, Elizabeth Donelson Ott, Hugh Reid Poland, Ian Andrew Pope, Keely Eilis Quinlan, Joshua Levi Schaefer, Dylan Connor Schwartz, Devon Christopher Smith, Logan Hunter Spoonamore, Dalton Rylee Sprinkle, Cody James Tippit, Antonio Enrique Valencia, Lee Yunsok Weeks, Janie Leann White, Logan Connor Williams, and Sheev Manoj Zaver; and

WHEREAS, those students to be honored also include West Creek High School's Manuel Angel, Patrick Robert Bennett, Robert Cala, Chelsea Marie Campbell, Dinah Kaylee Catterton, Kaleisha Elise Chatman, Alexis Rochon Crawley, Jerome Crawford Cunningham, Nastasia Tatiana Disotell, Olivia Latoi Glenn, Joshua Michael Gloss, James Culver Grandin, Katlyn Leann Gregory, Brianna Grace Griffith, Jennifer Elizabeth Harbuck, Kaylee Alizabeth Hughes, Si Eun Kim, Kayla Jordan Laub, Tae'Shaona Salene' Matthews, Paul Robert Nelson, Sabrina Marie Nieves, Zachary Miller O'Dell, Hiral Jitendrakumar Patel, Annabelle Maye Raines, Hailey Elizabeth Reeve, Tanea Nicole Resto, Heaven Leigh Santos, and Victoria Anne Shaffer; and

WHEREAS, the Clarksville-Montgomery County Education Foundation has inducted 11,502 Clarksville-Montgomery County students into this elite academic society in its twenty-five year history; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that the Clarksville-Montgomery County Education Foundation, Clarksville-Montgomery County School System, and the Clarksville community are to be commended for their efforts in placing such a high value on academic achievements at the center of their work, and we extend to them our congratulations on sustaining a twenty-five year program for these students through the Annual Academic Awards Student Recognition Program.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 763

ADOPTED: March 10, 2014

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

RAMSEY PEAKER-OF ТНЕ

APPROVED this 12th day of March 2014

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR