

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 908

By Representative Sanderson

and

Senator Finney

A RESOLUTION to recognize the Dyer County High School cheerleading squad upon their capture of the Large Varsity Co-Ed category of the Universal Cheerleaders Association's National High School Cheerleading Championship.

WHEREAS, this General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful athletic teams who, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this state; and

WHEREAS, the Dyer County High School cheerleaders achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2013-2014 season, winning the Large Varsity Co-Ed category of the Universal Cheerleaders Association's National High School Cheerleading Championships held at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida; and

WHEREAS, against a tough field of 560 teams with more than 11,000 of the nation's best cheerleaders, the Dyer County High School cheerleaders became repeat champions, having also won the competition last year; and

WHEREAS, with twenty-three girls and twenty-four boys, the Dyer County cheerleading squad boasts the largest number of male high school cheerleaders in the country; and

WHEREAS, the members of this outstanding team are: Matthew Pease, Bethany Rogers, Kelsey Slaughter, Paige Reasons, Jared Anderson, Tyler Holcomb, Abby Buck, Ashley Parker, Hannah Kent, Amanda McVey, Chelsea Parker, Logan Eichler, Madison Bullard, Katie Stevens, Magen Gable, Leea Fenton, Molly Sanders, Brad Starks, Wessley White, Alex Hyman, Lindsay Maupin, Mallory Tivey, Randi Zaricor, Chase Joy, Gage Teeter, Rylee Smith, Madyson Barrett, Levi Evans, Ashton Burchfiel, Andy Campbell, Taylor Chase, Dayton Capps, Billy Dowling, Cody Purvis, Gunner Garner, Katelyn Weaver, Brady Austin, Peyton McKnight, Katelyn Smith, Abigail Yuhas, Annadel McKnight, Dawson Price, Graham Waldron, Ryan Incrocci, Dylan Parker, Matthew Pierce, Braden Goodlett, Austin Doss, and Brandon Brown; and

WHEREAS, the Dyer County High School cheerleaders are led by coaches Lori Evans, Wendi Roberson, and Susan Campbell; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young athletes not only made possible a stellar triumph, but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Dyer County High School cheerleading squad for their outstanding performance and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the members of the Dyer County High School cheerleading squad on their commitment to excellence and applaud their capture of the Large Varsity Co-Ed category of the Universal Cheerleaders Association's National High School Cheerleading Championship.

HJR 908

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 908
ADOPTED: April 8, 2014
BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
RON RAMSEY SPEAKER OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this day of
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR