

State of Tennessee

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 223

By Representatives Love, Gilmore, Clemmons, Ramsey

and

Senator Harper

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the coaches and members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School girls' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Class AA state championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student-athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School Lady Royals have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard, as they recently won the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Class AA state championship; and

WHEREAS, the team has enjoyed increasingly more successful seasons since Head Coach Lindy Brown King joined the program in 2007, and a state championship win is the pinnacle of their success; and

WHEREAS, in the team's journey toward a 29–6 season, the Lady Royals came in third in the District 10AA tournament and second in the Region 5AA tourney as they marched toward the state tournament for the second consecutive season; and

WHEREAS, during their successful postseason, the Lady Royals defeated unbeaten teams from Christ Presbyterian Academy and Elizabethton High School before besting McMinn Central High School for the state crown; and

WHEREAS, multiple members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School team were recognized for their abilities on the court this season. Briana Smith, Molly Kafader, and Jordan Majors were named to the All-District 10AA regular season team and the All-State Tournament team; Briana Smith and Jordan Majors were named to the All-Region 5AA Tournament team; Briana Smith was named to the All-Tournament 10AA team; and Jordan Majors was named the State Tournament MVP; and

WHEREAS, in addition to personal awards, Molly Kafader recorded her 1,000th career point; and

WHEREAS, the members of this championship team are Gabby Woods, KeyArrah Cunningham, Molly Kafader, Eleanor DeNunzio, Lawrencia Harrison, Briana Smith, Courtney Allen, Kymberli Stevens, Jordan Majors, Eirene Francis, Rachel Sprandel, Arielle Beard, and Nautica Merrell; and

WHEREAS, in addition to Coach King, the team enjoyed the unfailing leadership and support of Assistant Coach Erin McIntyre, Managers Nadia Francis, Soteria Francis, Kiare Green, and Janae Cotton, Executive Principal Angela Carr, and Athletic Principal Linda Miller; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School Lady Royals epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women not only made possible a championship season, but also surely bode well for their future success; and

HJR 223

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly find it appropriate to pause in their deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School girls' basketball team for their outstanding performance, and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the coaches and members of the Martin Luther King Jr. Magnet School girls' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Class AA state championship, and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 223

ADOPTED: April 6, 2015

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

mau RON RAMSEY

APPROVED this ______ day of ______ _____ 2015

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR