

# State of Tennessee

# **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 258**

# By Representative Weaver

#### and

## **Senator Beavers**

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the coaches and members of the Defeated Elementary School girls' basketball team upon winning the TNT Class 1A state championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student-athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Defeated Elementary School girls' basketball team and Head Coach Jeff Craighead have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard, as they recently won the TNT Class 1A state championship; and

WHEREAS, in their pursuit of the state championship title, the Defeated Elementary School Lady Braves participated in a preseason basketball camp at Upperman High School, walking away with a 6–0 record, and won the regular season Forks River Tournament, Pickett County-Dale Hollow Classic, and, for the second year in a row, the Smith County Elementary Tournament; and

WHEREAS, they came into the state championship tournament with an undefeated record, beating out Christ the King Catholic School 35–11 in the first round and Hermitage Springs 26–18 in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Braves beat the undefeated E. K. Baker Elementary School Lady Yellow Jackets in a nail-biting 35–33 victory to win the school's third girls' basketball state championship title; and

WHEREAS, the members of this championship team are Kristen Shoulders, Avery Anne Schoolfield, Allyssa West, Sarah Schaffers, Carly Suhm, Allexis West, Amelia Seay, Lindsay Randolph, Emmie Huffines, Shelbie Manus, Megan Price, Cassie Oldham, and Brooke Halliburton; and

WHEREAS, the team enjoys the leadership and guidance of Head Coach Jeff Craighead, interim coaches Scott Moore and Eric Russell, and team manager Tonya Craighead, as well as the support of Principal Meranda Cook; and

WHEREAS, many members of the Lady Braves team had successful seasons; Smith County Girls Player of the Year Allyssa West and teammates Avery Anne Schoolfield, Kristen Shoulders, and Sarah Schaffers were named to the TNT State Tournament Girls All-State Team, with Allexis West receiving an honorable mention; and

WHEREAS, in addition to their dedication on the basketball court, the Lady Braves work hard in the classroom and boast a roster that includes the eighth-grade valedictorian and salutatorian and numerous members of the Junior Beta Club; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Defeated Elementary School Lady Braves basketball team epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women not only made possible a championship season, but also surely bode well for their future success; and

## **HJR 258**

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly find it appropriate to pause in their deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Defeated Elementary School Lady Braves basketball team for their outstanding performance, and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the coaches and members of the Defeated Elementary School girls' basketball team upon winning the TNT Class 1A state championship and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

ADOPTED: April 13, 2015
BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
RON RAMSEY PEAKER OF THE SENATE
APPROVED this day of 2015
BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 258