

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 597

By Representatives Kane, Hardaway, Akbari, Alexander, Armstrong, Beck, Harry Brooks, Kevin Brooks, Byrd, Calfee, Camper, Carr, Carter, Casada, Clemmons, Coley, Daniel, DeBerry, Dunlap, Dunn, Durham, Eldridge, Faison, Farmer, Favors, Fitzhugh, Forgety, Gilmore, Goins, Gravitt, Halford, Hawk, Hazlewood, Hicks, Matthew Hill, Timothy Hill, Holsclaw, Howell, Hulsey, Jenkins, Jernigan, Johnson, Jones, Keisling, Kumar, Lamberth, Littleton, Lollar, Lundberg, Lynn, Marsh, Matheny, Matlock, McDaniel, McManus, Miller, Mitchell, Moody, Parkinson, Pitts, Powell, Powers, Ramsey, Reedy, Rogers, Sanderson, Sargent, Cameron Sexton, Jerry Sexton, Shaw, Shepard, Smith, Sparks, Spivey, Stewart, Swann, Terry, Todd, Towns, Travis, Turner, Van Huss, Weaver, Dawn White, Mark White, Williams, Windle, Wirgau, Zachary, and Madam Speaker Harwell

and

Senators Overbey, Roberts, Southerland

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Three Dog Night.

WHEREAS, it is a distinct honor for the members of this General Assembly to pay tribute to those dynamic and inspirational musical groups that have attained a significant level of success; and

WHEREAS, Three Dog Night is one such group of musicians who, through the application of their abilities, have created some of the most memorable popular music for more than forty years; and

WHEREAS, icons of American pop music, Three Dog Night hits wind through the fabric of pop culture today. Whether on the radio where they are heard day in and day out, in television commercials, or in major motion pictures, their music serves to heighten our emotions and crystallize the band's popularity; and

WHEREAS, Three Dog Night's eclectic taste, combined with its ability to recognize and record hits in a unique, distinctive, and appealing style resulted in the group's dominance of the Top Forty charts for years and popularized the works of many famous songwriters, including Harry Nilsson, Randy Newman, Elton John, Laura Nyro, Paul Williams, Hoyt Axton, and many others; and

WHEREAS, boasting chart and sales records that are virtually unmatched in popular music, Three Dog Night had twenty-one consecutive Top Forty hits, including three number one singles, "Mama Told Me (Not to Come)," "Black and White," and "Joy to the World"; eleven top-ten singles; eighteen straight top-twenty singles; seven million-selling singles; and twelve straight Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) Certified Gold LPs. Their hits have appeared on best-selling charts for pop, rock, and country, and the group has sold tens of millions of records around the world; and

WHEREAS, the Grammy-nominated band continues to grow its fan base, expanding their impressive discography with new songs such as "Heart of Blues" and their a cappella ballad, "Prayer of the Children"; recording new and old hits with the London Symphony Orchestra; and marketing their works through iTunes, Amazon, and other digital retailers; and

WHEREAS, the band consists of founder and lead singer Danny Hutton, guitarist Michael Allsup, bassist and vocalist Paul Kingery, drummer Pat Bautz, keyboardist Eddie Reasoner, and vocalist David Morgan; and

WHEREAS, now in its fourth decade on the road, Three Dog Night maintains an aggressive, year-round schedule of over seventy dates a year. Since 1986, the band has performed over 2,200 shows, including two Super Bowls; and

HJR 597

WHEREAS, it is wholly fitting that this General Assembly formally recognize the members of Three Dog Night; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we commend the members of Three Dog Night, applauding their many contributions to the cultural landscape of American music and extending our best wishes for their every continued success and happiness.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 597

ADOPTED: February 29, 2016

BETH HARWELL, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

RON RAMSEY THE SENATE PEAKER OF

APPROVED this ______ day of __ ~ (_ 2016

BILL HASLAM, GOVERNOR