

State of Tennessee

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 378

By Senator Bailey

and

Representatives Cameron Sexton, Dunlap

A RESOLUTION recognizing the White County High School archery team, 2015 Tennessee State National Archery in the Schools Program Tournament champions.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to specially recognize and commend those exemplary athletes and athletic teams who have attained the ultimate laurel in sporting competition, namely a championship title; and

WHEREAS, the White County High School archery team, the Warriors and Warriorettes, is one such outstanding athletic team, which recently bested all comers in tournament action and captured the state championship title in the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) competition in Murfreesboro; and

WHEREAS, this 2015 championship comes back-to-back with White County's 2014 championship, making it a particularly praiseworthy accomplishment achieved by this outstanding group of youth; and

WHEREAS, Coach Melea Johnson has guided her shooters through rigorous training and skill-building, and the team has gained a reputation as a formidable opponent on the range; and

WHEREAS, in tournament play, the Warriors and Warriorettes had four individual competitors finish in the Top Ten of the high school division, which boosted the overall team effort to championship success. Seniors Isaiah Gardenhire and Chris Morton finished second and eighth, respectively; sophomore Hayden Robbins finished fifth; and sophomore Jacklynn Bryant finished fourth overall and was the number two girl overall in the State; and

WHEREAS, this championship team's roster is rounded out by members: Katie Ashburn, Daniel Bray, John Breeding, Jennifer Campanelli, Blake Carter, Cara Chisam, Cameron Dixon, Hannah England, Jaimie Erwin, Kristin Ferraro, James Gilley, Chaney Gooch, Tallen Gooch, Megan Henry, Angelle Howard, Brett Howard, Clay Howard, Steven Hunt, Shelby B. Johnson, Britney Keen, Courtney Mabe, Katelyn Miller, Rachel Miller, Aly Munden, Bailey Odom, TJ Plunkett, Cody Price, Sabria Randolph, Caleb Roberts, Hyle Robbins, Tristen Rogers, Brian Schalk, Bryan Scott, Sarah Sergio, Seth Sims, Andrew Sparks, Natalye Steele, Zac Stoglin, Garrett Turner, Greg Vinson, Andrew Webb, Clay Wilson, Hailie Young, and Hallie Young; and

WHEREAS, evincing perfection in their sport, the White County High School archery team displayed great sportsmanship and outstanding character throughout this competition and the entire season and have conducted themselves in a manner appropriate to the integrity of the State of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, these Warriors and Warriorettes displayed uncommon talent, determination, and perseverance in their quest for a second consecutive State championship, and they should be commended for attaining this lofty goal; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby recognize and commend the coach and members of the White County High School archery team, the 2015 National Archery in the Schools Program Tournament champions, especially applauding this as a repeat of their 2014 championship, and extending to each team member our best wishes for success in all of their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 378

ADOPTED:	April 22, 2015			
		SPEA	RON RAMSEY KER OF THE SENATE	
			HARWELL, SPEAKER FREPRESENTATIVES	_
APPROVED this	s_ <u> S</u> t_day of <u>\M</u>	Day	2015	
Bi	BILL HASLAM, GO	VERNOR		