

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 408

By Senator Johnson

and

Representatives Casada, Sargent

A RESOLUTION to honor the Franklin Special School District Board of Education on receiving the Tennessee School Boards Association 2015 School Board of the Year Award.

WHEREAS, from time to time, the members of the General Assembly pay recognition to those exemplary institutions and organizations that serve to improve their communities and bring honor to this State; and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Special School District (FSSD) Board of Education is one such organization that, in fitting recognition of its many contributions toward the pursuit of educational excellence in Franklin, was named the 2015 School Board of the Year by the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA); and

WHEREAS, the award is given annually by the TSBA to a school board that has met all standards of a TSBA Board of Distinction; developed, monitored, and applied policy; undertaken long-range planning; promoted quality education through involvement with the Tennessee General Assembly, its city or county commission, the State Board of Education, its community, and its staff; engaged in board development activities, including boardsmanship award levels for each member; and cultivated a positive relationship with the media; and

WHEREAS, an education leader in Tennessee, the FSSD Board of Education accepted this prestigious award during the annual convention of the Tennessee School Boards Association; and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Special School District has been in existence since 1906, and its Board of Education is the local governmental body responsible for providing a public education to students and families within the boundaries of the FSSD; and

WHEREAS, the FSSD's "overarching strategic plan goal" is to build on its reputation to become known as a consistently innovative, educationally unmatched district with enthusiastic community engagement and a broad base of public funding and support; and

WHEREAS, a current Board of Distinction with TSBA, the FSSD Board works diligently to meet the challenges of a dynamic world while ensuring that every child receives the services needed for a quality education; and

WHEREAS, the Franklin Special School District Board of Education is composed of six board members, each having achieved a level of boardsmanship with TSBA, with Level V being Master Board Member status; and

WHEREAS, the members of the award-winning FSSD Board of Education are Tim Stillings, Chairman, Level V; Robert Blair, Vice Chair, Level V; Alicia Barker, Secretary, Level III; Robin Newman, Treasurer, Level II; Allena Bell, board member, Level III; and Kevin Townsel, board member, Level I; and

WHEREAS, FSSD Board members regularly visit district and school events to share their support; support professional learning within FSSD by funding innovative opportunities for faculty and staff, as well as ensuring their own growth by attendance at state and national conferences; actively participate and lend support in community events; participate in legislative events and learning opportunities; attend city and county commission meetings and monitor school district

activities across the region; and serve individually on a variety of district and community councils and committees; and

WHEREAS, it is wholly fitting that the members of this General Assembly formally recognize the Franklin Special School District Board of Education upon its receipt of this acclaimed award; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we recognize and commend the members of the Franklin Special School District Board of Education upon being named the Tennessee School Boards Association's 2015 School Board of the Year and applaud their sterling dedication to serving the educational needs of the young people of Franklin and this State.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 408

ADOPTED:	January 13, 2016	
		RON RAMSEY PEAKER OF THE SENATE
	Be	4 Harvell
		ETH HARWELL, SPEAKER SE OF REPRESENTATIVES

APPROVED this LST day of JWIN 2016