

### State of Tennessee

## SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 21

#### By Representative Clemmons

#### and

#### Senators Gilmore, Yarbro

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Waverly Belmont Elementary School Class of 2020.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are proud to recognize trailblazing students who best exemplify the character and diversity of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the Class of 2020, the inaugural class of Waverly Belmont Elementary School, is one such group of students; and

WHEREAS, Waverly Belmont Elementary School is part of the Hillsboro Cluster within Metro Nashville Public Schools (MNPS); and

WHEREAS, having undergone a significant renovation, Waverly Belmont Elementary School reopened its doors to students on August 5, 2015; and

WHEREAS, the school's grand opening included a ribbon-cutting ceremony that featured Mayor Karl Dean, MNPS Director of Schools Dr. Jesse Register, Principal Kimber Halliburton, State Representative John Ray Clemmons, State Representative Harold M. Love, Jr., State Senator Jeff Yarbro, MNPS School Board member Will Pinkston, MNPS School Board member Mary Pierce, Metro Councilwoman Burkley Allen, Metro Councilwoman Sandra Moore, and Metro Councilwoman Emily Evans; and

WHEREAS, establishing wonderful new traditions, the school mascot is Waverly, a bulldog; the school song is "The Waverly Belmont Way," and the school motto is "Unwavering Excellence"; and

WHEREAS, during their matriculation at Waverly Belmont, the Class of 2020 participated in a number of school-sponsored events, including the annual Bulldog Bolt, Read Me Week celebrations and guest readers, Spirit Weeks, PTO family dinners, field days, holiday sing-alongs, Walk to School days, family literacy nights, talent shows, Kindergarten Pigeon Book Publishing Party, Evenings of the Arts, Birthday Book Club, author visits, SGA service projects, career days, wax museums, roster reveals, and many other fun and educational activities; and

WHEREAS, students also had the opportunity to participate in a number of extracurricular activities, including Acting Up, Camp Brick, Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, Running Club, Sports Club, Yoga, Dance/Cheer Club, Ballet Club, and SGA; and

WHEREAS, the Waverly Belmont Elementary School Class of 2020 enjoyed the outstanding efforts of a first-rate school administration, award-winning faculty, and staff that included Principal Kimber Halliburton; Principal Susan Blankenship; Assistant Principal Timothy Caher; school counselors Laura Lamb and Sarah Beth Watts; teachers Casey Moore, Carrie Beth Edmondson, McKenzie Sylvester, Ashley Ogle, Codi Cummings, Kristin McLaughlin, Aly Logan, Holly Despres, Leah Wheeler, Edie Whitley, Megan Rush, Haley Williams, Natalie Williams, Brett Rackoff, Tanya Drossner, Katie Barksdale, Danielle Robertson, Ella Jackson, Andrew Herman, Jeffery Bray, Katelyn Martin, and Samantha Schmutterer; teacher/literacy coach Brooke Temple; instructional coach Judson Byler; librarians Laura Hartley and Jana Whittle; advanced academics teachers Noel Turner and Carol Byrd; reading interventionist Stacey Hobbs; social worker Amy Dinkel; Chinese teachers Hao Long and Dean An; Spanish

#### **HJR 21**

teacher Daniel Diaz; art teacher Sarah Bixby; music teacher Alice Walle; physical education teachers Mike Tomalo and Jeremy Dison; special education teachers Gillian Dunaway, Tamara McLean, and Aaron Addis; speech/language pathologists Jennifer Dilbert, Taylor Hye, and Lindsey Webb; administrative assistant/bookkeeper Jose Calo; secretary/clerk Melissa Richmond; general assistants Chanda Wilson and Mikah Diaz; and support staffers Stacey Cleghon, Crystal Gregg, Leann Fitzgerald, Alejandros Felton, Deborah Milford, Catherine Gooch-Grigsby, Lovell Elsberry, Helen Close, Colleen Crowe, and Bridgette Pincham; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Class of 2020 include: Alexey Adams, Landon Alexander, Samuel Benitone, Leilia Berry Reynolds, Lucille Block, Sophia Bonnett, Aiden Brown, Jaiden Brown, Brooklyn Bradley, Ariyah Cash, Joseph Claiborne, Lillie Clark-Cash, John Clemmons, Kanyiah Coffey, Maya Conrad, Amelia Dunham, KeVarius Edwards, Carli Elliott, Nathan Gilmore, Erick Grijalva, Tyler Guinness, Jordyn Harris, Millard Hayes, Avery Hayworth, Marcus Jackson, Jacob Jarrett, Jockquvais Johnson, Malachi Keeble, Noah Kirk, Vivian Lee, Giada Lewis, Zion Macon, Aisha Maiga, Jordyn Marks, Raleigh McAdams, Matilda McClarey, Elizabeth Meier, Ah'Milyin Moore, Declan Moran, Warren Motzny, Javon Patterson, Corey Phillips, Rhys Richardson, Judah Roddick, and Zoe Sobecki; and

WHEREAS, the students and staff of Waverly Belmont Elementary School enjoyed the support of a tremendous succession of PTO presidents, namely Jessica Jarrett, Erin Gilmore, and Rachel Roddick; and

WHEREAS, the Class of 2020 had their final year at Waverly Belmont Elementary School cut short by the worldwide coronavirus pandemic; and

WHEREAS, the Class of 2020 held a virtual promotion ceremony on May 19, 2020, to celebrate their scholastic achievements; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Class of 2020 will undoubtedly continue to make their families, educators, the Nashville community, and our State proud in their future endeavors; and

WHEREAS, all future classes of Waverly Belmont will follow in the footsteps of the Class of 2020 and continue their commitment to unwavering excellence; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the Class of 2020 of Waverly Belmont Elementary School on this special occasion, saluting their achievements in the classroom and the efforts of the administration, faculty, staff, and parents of Waverly Belmont Elementary School who helped make this possible, laying a solid foundation for each student's future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

# SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 21

ADOPTED: August 12, 2020

CAMERON SEXTON, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

RANDY MCNALLY
SPEAKER OF THE SENATE

APPROVED this 17th day of AUGUST 2020

BILL LEE. GOVERNOR