

State of Tennessee

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 207

By Johnson, Gresham, Massey

A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, established advisory boards for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Tennessee at Martin; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and University of Tennessee Health Science Center; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, provides that the governor shall appoint five (5) members to each advisory board; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Lynn Massingale of Knoxville, The Honorable Mark Norris of Collierville, Michael Ugwueke of Germantown, Phil Wenk of Brentwood, and Natalie Tate of Signal Mountain to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center; and

WHEREAS, Lynn Massingale, a graduate of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, has had a distinguished career as the co-founder, chairman, and former chief executive officer of Team Health; and

WHEREAS, Mark Norris is a United States District Court Judge for the Western District of Tennessee and previously served with distinction as Senate Majority Leader in the Tennessee General Assembly; and

WHEREAS, Michael Ugwueke is the president and chief executive officer of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare after holding other leadership roles with other healthcare organizations and has been recognized for his contributions and substantial healthcare operations expertise; and

WHEREAS, Phil Wenk, a graduate of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, is the president and chief executive officer of Delta Dental of Tennessee and has been a strong supporter of the university; and

WHEREAS, Natalie Tate, a graduate of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, is the Vice President for Pharmacy Management at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee and previously served as the student member of the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the advisory boards for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Tennessee at Martin; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and University of Tennessee Health Science Center shall be confirmed by the General Assembly; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the following appointments to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center: Michael Ugwueke for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022; Natalie Tate for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022; Mark Norris for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2021; Lynn Massingale for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2021; and Phil Wenk for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2020.

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 207

ADOPTED:	March 14, 2019
	12-dy McDally
	RANDY McNALLY SPEAKER OF THE SENATE
	Alu Carala
	GLEN CASADA, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
APPROVED this	27 ^也 day of March 2019

Brie Cee