

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 1029

By Jackson

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Lake County High School Falcons on winning the 2019 TSSAA Division I, Class 1A state football championship.

WHEREAS, this General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their triumphant accomplishments, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, the Lake County High School Falcons achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2019 season, winning the coveted TSSAA Division I, Class 1A state football championship with a perfect record of 15-0 and uniting their community with spirit and pride in the process; and

WHEREAS, during the regular season, the fearless Falcons ran the table, defeating Union City 58-16, Crockett County 26-21, Dresden 52-7, Humboldt 40-12, Westview 72-50, Gleason 62-6, South Fulton 54-16, West Carroll 60-14, Greenfield 56-0, and Ripley 32-0 to finish 10-0 and claim the Region 7A Championship; and

WHEREAS, in the TSSAA Division I, Class 1A playoffs, Lake County clobbered B. T. Washington 50-20 in the first round; trounced Memphis Academy of Science and Engineering 56-0 in the second round; walloped West Carroll 46-0 in the quarterfinals; and bested Huntingdon 30-20 in the semifinal match-up to advance to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, playing for all the marbles in the BlueCross Bowl in Cookeville on December 6, 2019, the Falcons soundly defeated Greenback 38-23 and were crowned 2019 TSSAA Division I, Class 1A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, Tanner Snyder was named Most Valuable Player of the championship game after tallying 404 yards of total offense and four touchdowns, while also returning an interception for a touchdown; and

WHEREAS, Lake County's 2019 undefeated season contributed significantly to the proud legacy of Falcon football, as the school won its third state championship, having previously gone the distance in 1980 and 1985; and

WHEREAS, the Falcons benefited greatly from the football expertise, patient instruction, and inspired leadership of their head coach, Josh Puckett, who relied heavily on his outstanding assistant coaches, Jonathan Canada, Hunter Short, Damio Yancy, Austin Hopper, Billy Windsor, RJ Hays, and Richard Ritz; and

WHEREAS, the Lake County High School football team roster featured many outstanding athletes, including Jeremiah Williams, Malachi Taylor, Izaiah Matheny, Tanner Snyder, Keyshon Gross, Jamarius Williams, Larry Tubbs, Cayden Puckett, Ryan Mills, Jayson Ritz, Justin Morgan, Miguel Abbott, Brandon Curvin, Keaton Samons, Jahmyan Geanes, James Wilson, Demarion Abbott, Blake Smith, John Wilson, Jamarion Higgins, Rylan Williams, Joseph McCord, Rodshun Cheirs, Campbell Puckett, Jacob Barker, Roberto Alamillo, Terry Burkett, Trey Kimble, Colby Thompson-Mason, Jeremiah Hedgepath, Ricky Forrest, Edi Martinez, and Malachi Clay; and

WHEREAS, support staff members were also valuable team contributors during this championship season; these dedicated volunteers included managers, Chance Estes, Jason Hedgepath, and Karter Hays; trainer, Deron Sturgeon; chaplain, Allen Jones; film coordinator, Javious Mitchell; statisticians, Jeff Mills and Skylar Shelton; and travel/meals coordinators, Joel Estes and Greg Ross; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the community at large, the Falcons enjoyed the encouragement and assistance of athletic director, Mike Moore; principal, Preston Caldwell; and director of schools, Sherry Darnell; and

WHEREAS, state championships are the result of collective focus, hard work, and a willingness to submit to the greater good of the team; the gridiron greats of Lake County exhibited each of these rare qualities during their undefeated championship season; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the Falcons of Lake County High School for serving as a benchmark of the high quality of high school athletics in Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the players, coaching staff, support staff, and loyal supporters of the Lake County High School Falcons football team on winning the 2019 TSSAA Division I, Class 1A state football championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 1029

ADOPTED: March 9, 2020

R-dy Me RANDY McNALL

SPEAKER OF THE SENATE

CAMERON SEXTON, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

APPROVED this 12th day of March 2020

Brie lee

BILL LEE, GOVERNOR