

State of Jennessee

## **SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 90**

## By Johnson, Gresham, Massey

A RESOLUTION to confirm the appointment of Danni B. Varlan of Knoxville to the Tennessee board of regents.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides for the creation of the Tennessee board of regents; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, further provides that the governor shall appoint twelve members to the Tennessee board of regents; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Lee has appointed Danni B. Varlan of Knoxville to the Tennessee board of regents as a member representing the 2nd Congressional District to a term that will expire on June 30, 2025; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Varlan was first appointed to the Tennessee board of regents on September 29, 2010, representing the 2nd Congressional District; she was reappointed to serve a second term in 2013; and

WHEREAS, since 2012, Ms. Varlan has been the Major Gifts and Annual Giving Officer at East Tennessee Children's Hospital in Knoxville; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Varlan has served her community in many capacities, including as a member of the boards of directors of the East Tennessee Economic Council and the East Tennessee Children's Hospital and as chairman of the board of directors of Knoxville Habitat for Humanity and the Knoxville Salvation Army advisory board; and

WHEREAS, Danni Varlan is a person of integrity and an active citizen whose benevolence, acumen, and strong commitment to public service have helped to enhance the well-being of this State and its citizens; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the Tennessee board of regents shall be confirmed by the senate; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Danni B. Varlan to the Tennessee board of regents for a term that will expire on June 30, 2025.

## ADOPTED: February 3, 2020

R-dy M RANDY MCNAL

SPEAKER OF THE SENATE