

State of Tennessee

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 76

By Representatives Hawk, Reedy

A RESOLUTION to honor Boy Scout Troop 94 on its seventy-fifth anniversary.

WHEREAS, at a time when this nation's youth face difficult challenges, the Boy Scouts of America is one of our finest assets, providing young people with an educational program that contributes significantly to their character development, citizenship training, and improved mental and physical fitness; and

WHEREAS, Boy Scout Troop 94 has played a pivotal role in the accomplishment of the Boy Scouts of America's lofty goals for many years, and this year it celebrates its seventy-fifth anniversary; and

WHEREAS, chartered in 1948, Troop 94 is sponsored by Asbury United Methodist Church and serves the communities of Greeneville and Greene County; Troop 94 is one of the oldest and most successful troops in the Sequoyah Council, which comprises southwest Virginia and northeast Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, throughout its seven and one-half decades, Troop 94 has provided many young people with a strong foundation in their formative years, molding them into upstanding citizens and positive contributors to our great nation; and

WHEREAS, each year, the Scouts and leaders of Troop 94 provide more than 500 hours of volunteer community service, participating in such projects as Scouting for Food, Eagle service projects, conservation programs, and flag decorations at the National Cemetery; as part of the American Flag Project, the troop has placed American flags along city streets on holidays for a number of years; and

WHEREAS, the members of Troop 94 have earned many honors throughout the past seventy-five years; several of the troop's Scouts have attended National Jamborees and the high adventure bases at Philmont in Cimarron, New Mexico, including the Sea Base and the Canoe Base; earning further renown for Troop 94, three Scouts have won appointments to the United States Military Academy at West Point; and

WHEREAS, the highest rank a Boy Scout can attain is that of Eagle Scout, and eightyfive Scouts of Troop 94 have joined the prestigious Eagle Court of Honor during the Troop's seventy-five years; and

WHEREAS, those stalwart Scouts are Matt B. Harmon (1959), Albert Alter (1961), Bob McCray (1961), Bill Shanks (1961), Lynn Spees (1962), Robert L. Burns (1967), Collin Crawford (1967), Maurice Yates (1967), Craig Brent (1968), James Brent (1968), Luke Goddard (1968), John Thomas Love (1968), Russell Odell (1968), Bart Reviere (1968), David Spees (1968), Benny Stonecypher (1968), Stanley C. Winslow (1968), Chris Bullington (1970), David W. Smith (1977), David Beach (1980), Mark Giuliani (1980), Duane Stanton (1980), Jim Templin (1980), Zahn Stanton (1980), Bobby Walker (1991), John Reviere (1992), Matthew Morrell (1995), Ryan Hawk (1995), Aaron Connell (1997), Matthew Cook (1997), Matthew Snyder (1997), James Thompson (1997), Chris Close (1999), Josh Keller (1999), Micah McCray (1999), Michael Connell (2000), Chip Walton (2000), Adam Richard (2001), P. B. Bachman (2001), Jordon Yokely (2001), Michael Walton (2002), Adam Rymer (2002), Mark Henry (2003), Scott Deans (2003), Josh Richard (2004), Tyler Yokley (2005), Alexander Small (2005), Avery Myers (2006), Chris Miller (2006), Joseph Bowman (2006), Paul Loewenkamp (2007), Ben Wagner (2008), Devin White (2008), Zach King (2008), Zach Shupe (2008), Matthew Smith (2008), Henry Loewenkamp (2008), Jesse Peavley (2009), Matthew Fox (2009), Andrew Clark (2010), David Place (2010), Andrew Miller (2011), Russell Shell (2011), Dylan Jones (2011), Ethan Lott (2012), Andy Bible (2012), Josh Beckett (2012), Ryan Showalter (2012), Andrew Whitaker (2012), Chris Fox (2012), Ethan Adams (2014), Bryan Pickle (2014), Evan Miller (2014), Stone Susong (2015), Clay Alley (2015), Jordan Lister (2016), Tory Phillips (2016), Gregory Brown

HR76

(2019), Ian Miller (2019), Camden Reese (2019), Charlie Wilhoit (2021), Elijah Cutshall (2021), Brennan Casebier (2021), Nathanael Johnson (2022), and Ethan Sutherlen (2022); and

WHEREAS, Troop 94's many accomplishments are a result of the expertise and skillful leadership of the seventeen Scoutmasters who have guided it since 1948, including Fay Johnston (1948–1950), Herman Goddard (1950–1955), Jack Pace (1955–1957, 1958, 1964–1971), Tom Dosser (1957), Robert Dorr (1959–1962), Kermit Justis (1962–1964), Max Dolder (1971–1973), Allen Barham (1973), Reverend Warren Stewart (1973–1974), Art Masker (1974–1981), Bart Reviere (1981–1994, 1996–1998), Daniel Ott (1994–1996), Bill Rymer (1998–2001), George Miller (2001–2007, 2015–), Bob Showalter (2008–2012), Joe Lister (2012–2015), and Jacob Chambless; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate that we should pause to recognize Troop 94, in honor of its many achievements and its record of exemplary service, as one of the most outstanding organizations in our State; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we join in celebrating the seventy-fifth anniversary of Boy Scout Troop 94 and extend to the Scoutmasters, Scouts, and all those associated with Troop 94 our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. ______

ADOPTED: April 19, 2023

CAMERON SEX CON, SPEAKER HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES